As a car accident attorney in Palm Beach Gardens, it’s my job to know the law, including any new changes or updates. Unfortunately, saying, “I didn’t know that was the law” won’t hold up in court for you either. That’s why in this blog post, I’ll explain what the updated Florida "Move Over" law is for 2024 including what the law requires, the penalties for non-compliance, and tips on how to handle a Move Over law ticket. 

Schedule a Free Consultation

Table of Contents:

Florida's Move Over law as ambulance passes carsWhat Does Florida's Move Over Law Require?

Florida House Bill 425 (Transportation), otherwise known as Florida’s “Move Over” law requires that drivers move over a lane for tow trucks, first responders, and other emergency vehicles. However, as of January 1, 2024, this bill has been updated to include all disabled vehicles that display hazard lights, emergency flares, or emergency signage including utility service vehicles and garbage trucks. It is important to note there is an exception that if you are unable to safely move over, or if you are on a two-lane road, you can opt instead to slow down to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. 

How Much is a Move Over Law Ticket in Florida?

If you are found to be in violation of the new Move Over law for 2024, you may be facing some serious penalties. This can result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record as outlined in section 316.126, Florida Statutes. As of 2024, the fine for a Move Over Law violation varies but typically costs anywhere from $60 to $158, and even up to $500 in severe cases. Additionally, receiving points on your driving record can result in increased insurance premiums and even suspension of driving privileges if you collect too many points within a set time frame. Penalty points remain on your driver’s license for three years in Florida, and the only way to dismiss points from a traffic ticket is either through driving school or by contacting an experienced car accident lawyer who can properly defend your case. 

When Must You Slow to 5 mph Under Florida's Move Over Law?

You may be wondering what to do if the posted speed limit is already at 20 mph and you are unable to reduce your speed without stopping completely. In this scenario, it is ok to reduce your speed by 5 mph under the posted speed limit. Keep in mind though that the law is primarily in place so vehicles move over a lane altogether, and it is best to do this if you can safely do so. 

How to Beat a Move Over Law Ticket?

Challenging these types of tickets involves several steps, and having experienced legal representation can significantly increase your chances of success. Here are some strategies to beat a Move Over Law ticket in Florida:

  1. Gather Evidence: Collect any evidence that may support your case such as dashcam footage, the weather, or road conditions/obstructions. 
  2. Check for Technicalities: Ensure the ticket was insured correctly and that all information is accurate. 
  3. Demonstrate Compliance or Safety Concerns: It may be the case that you complied with the Move Over law or that moving over was unsafe due to traffic conditions. 
  4. Hire a Car Accident Attorney: An experienced car accident attorney can help you navigate through the ticket process, represent you in court, and provide expert advice

contact our Palm Beach Gardens car accident lawyer

Top Rated Car Accident Attorney in Palm Beach Gardens

The updated Move Over law in Florida is crucial to ensure the safety of emergency vehicles and service personnel who are there for our best interest and keep our cars and vehicles safe. In 2023 alone, there were 176 crashes throughout the state of Florida that resulted due to drivers not moving over, with those between the ages of 20 - 40 found to most likely violate the Move Over law. We know that we all want to do our part to keep our roads and others safe while driving, but sometimes moving over a lane, or even slowing down suddenly is not possible and can even be unsafe. 

If you find yourself with a Move Over law ticket, the first thing you should do is contact an experienced car accident attorney. As a car accident lawyer in Palm Beach Gardens, FL, I’m committed to helping drivers understand their rights and responsibilities. If you need assistance with a Move Over Law ticket or any other traffic-related legal issue, don’t hesitate to reach out for expert legal advice.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Protect your rights and ensure your safety on the road with the help of a dedicated legal professional. For personalized legal assistance and representation regarding Florida’s Move Over law or other traffic-related matters in Florida, contact us online by clicking the button above, or we’re available 24/7 by phone at 561.671.5995.

Comments are closed.