I was in a car accident and I don't have insurance...what happens next if it wasn't my fault? If you were involved in an automobile accident as a passenger and you do not have insurance, you do not have to worry if the driver of the vehicle you were in did not cause the accident. As a passenger involved in a car accident in Florida, you are entitled to personal injury protection (PIP) benefits that can cover most medical bills. Additionally, you may make a claim against the at-fault driver's insurance for any bodily injury damage. Regardless if you were the passenger or driver, you should immediately contact a Florida personal injury lawyer as you may be entitled to compensation. While hiring a personal injury lawyer can seem intimidating, here are a few basic questions you can ask when interviewing one.
If You Are Uninsured and Not-at-Fault
In the state of Florida, if you were involved in an automobile accident, and you own a car without insurance, you may face criminal implications. Driving without insurance is illegal in Florida, and it's a serious problem that could result in the suspension or revocation of your driver's license.
If you do not alert the police of your accident and attempt to make a claim against the other driver after the accident, your claim may be rejected. It's best to alert the police of any automobile accident just for the purpose of being on the record. If you make a claim against the other driver later, the other driver's insurance can deny that the accident occurred without a police record present. While calling the police may implicate you of a crime, it is best to do so, especially if you believe you are injured. If your Florida driver’s license and registration are suspended for failure to carry auto insurance, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can review your case and help to reinstate your license.
Is the Car I'm Driving Insured?
What happens if you are involved in a car accident with a vehicle that is not yours? While you may not own a vehicle which means you have no insurance, there is a good chance the vehicle itself may be insured. If you have permission to be in use of the vehicle, you will be covered under the vehicle owner's insurance policy.
If you own a vehicle and have not insured it, you will not be entitled to the other person's insurance for PIP benefits, but you can still make a claim against them for bodily injury damage.
Why Should I Hire a Florida Personal Injury Lawyer?
According to a survey done by Nolo, it was found that two-thirds of their readers who hired a personal injury attorney received a payout between $3,000 and $75,000 with the average payout being $52,000. These are four reasons why you should hire a personal injury attorney to handle your accident case.
The best way to maximize compensation and be protected after a car accident is to hire an experienced personal injury lawyer. The Law Offices of Matthew Konecky will fight on your behalf while you recover from an injury. Contact us or call our office today at (561) 671-5995 to find out if we can help you. You can also download my book 'What The Heck is My Personal Injury Case Worth?' for free.