Woman Holding Neck After Being in Car Accident with Uninsured Driver in Florida

Florida ranks among the top five states when it comes to having the most uninsured drivers. According to the Insurance Information Institute, 20.4% of Floridian motorists drive without any car insurance at all. 

In Florida, most of us have the option to purchase "uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance" which can protect us from having to pay out-of-pocket damages after an accident. This added insurance coverage essentially takes the place of the uninsured or underinsured driver's lack of insurance.

Driving without car insurance in Florida is illegal. Florida insurance laws state that every driver is required to carry minimum insurance of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PD/PDL) which in many cases is not enough to cover injuries or damages. If you were hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver in Florida, contact us or call us at (561) 671-5995 to discuss your legal options with our experienced car accident attorney.

How Your Car Insurance Policy Deals with Uninsured Drivers in Florida

In Florida, your injuries will first be covered by your PIP insurance. If the other party is either uninsured or underinsured, you may make a claim with your insurance. If your own car insurance denies a claim after being hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver in Florida, you may have to file a lawsuit to obtain the compensation you deserve. Unfortunately, if the driver who caused the accident does not have car insurance, there is a good chance they do not have the money to pay out a claim. An option for those who cannot afford to pay out a claim is a payment schedule so the defendant is not put into financial hardship.

Talk to a Palm Beach County Car Accident Lawyer

If the defendant fails or refuses to make payments towards the settlement, a Palm Beach County car accident lawyer can seek alternative ways to collect compensation like:

  • Suspend uninsured motorist's license until the settlement is paid
  • Putting a lien on a non-homestead property
  • Garnishing the defendant's bank account
  • Seizing personal property with a levy
  • Garnishing the defendant's wages
  • Suspend uninsured motorist's license until the settlement is paid

According to Nolo, roughly 66% of their readers who hired a personal injury attorney received an average payout of $52,000 for their injuries and damages.

If you or a family member were injured in a Florida car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, The Law Offices of Matthew Konecky has over 18 years of experience fighting for the settlements our clients deserve. Contact us or call us at (561) 671-5995 to discuss your options for compensation for your injuries.  I've also written a free guide, 'What the Heck Is My Personal Injury Case Worth?', which provides down-to-earth, honest information about the personal injury claim process.

The Law Offices of Matthew Konecky handles uninsured and underinsured car accident cases in all of Palm Beach County, Palm Beach Gardens, West Palm Beach, Wellington, Boca Raton, Jupiter, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Loxahatchee, Royal Plam Beach, Riviera Beach, Lake Worth, Greenacres and all of Broward County.

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment